I am my mother’s daughter.

mom

Today our pastor preached an especially god Mother’s Day sermon, which is to say that it didn’t talk specifically to mothers. He recognized the role of parents in general, but also of all women in the Christian community – single, married, widowed, young, old, childless, adopting, expectant, etc. He reminded children – of all ages, but specifically older children out of the house – to try to recognize all the things their parents taught them.mom2

I am definitely my mother’s daughter. We look a lot alike, talk alike, do the same hand gestures, and repeat the same expressions. She taught me that bigger hair is better hair and that you can never have too many shoes unless they are uncomfortable ones. She taught me that you should always clean your house and do your nails before going on vacation and you should never run out of hairspray. She taught me to dress to fit my body type, even if it isn’t in style, which is why the Stone women have been rocking princess cut dresses for a long time and there is no end in sight. She taught me how to set a table, clean spots of the walls, and how to make perfect pie crust. She taught me that notes are best left on chairs in the middle of the entryway where people will trip over them and that cards should always be homemade from pictures clipped from magazines. She taught me that mud is for playing in and poising ivy is for avoiding. She taught me that you can never wash your hands too many times and you always need pockets for tissues. She taught me to talk to animals and pick up trash that other people avoid. She taught me to always look for imperfections when I am shopping and then haggle for a deal as if we still lived in a bartering economy.

mom3

She also taught be that “the best way to be happy is to put others first.” She taught me that there is always a way to share your faith, even at birthday parties or work. She taught me that I am a child of the King and that I should stand up straight and act like it. She taught me that you should include everyone, even if you don’t want to. She taught me that you do what is right even if everyone else wants to do something different.

mom4

So I guess I am pretty proud to be my mother’s daughter. WegmannWedding254

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I am my mother’s daughter.

  1. Amanda says:

    I love love love these photos!

    “You’re a child of the King, so sit up straight and act like it.” I will be passing this gem on to my child.

  2. Lawson Stone says:

    In the first picture, it’s that thin line of drool that I find most…uh…most… well… most…

  3. angie stone says:

    A teacher’s greatest joy is watching the learner carry on… and improve…. everything taught.

    But I have learned a few things also. My daughter taught me that red shoes go with anything and that curled hair should not be brushed out and that anything can be put in pasta. My daughter taught me that money is not only to be saved and scrimped but also enjoyed. My daughter taught me that a person’s heart is more important than their status. My daughter taught me that everything in life can be made into a party. And everyone enjoys a party.

  4. Sarah Ferguson says:

    Sweet Hannah number 2….loved reading this and yes you ARE your mother’s daughters. Two smart, remarkable and uniquely awesome ladies I am blessed to know and call my friends.

  5. Sarah Ferguson says:

    should have proofed….you are your mother’s DAUGHTER.

  6. tina says:

    Wow!! The photos are so precious and I’m so glad you are a photographer and see the value of a picture speaking a thousand words… these definitely do! Also, knowing your mom and watching you grow into the woman you are today are both unique gifts to me. And it seems funny to me that she thinks she learned from you that everything in life can be a party… the best parties I’ve ever been to were thrown by your mom! I think this is one of the many gifts she passed on to you…

  7. Trisha Hayes says:

    Head to toes in chills on this one. Literally chills. I love you both! If anyone were ever her mother’s daughter, it is definitely you! I would shut down my g-mail account if it weren’t for your posts = )) You’re not Tolstoy, that’s not needed here. However, I’m sure you’ve got some Leo lurking within you if e’er you needed to summon him. You are a Bronte sister and dare I say, a Miss Jane Austen. Your writing, your heart, your life…I am so grateful to have been a blink in the span of your existence. It’s a simple, yet treasured delight for me to READ your world and know… I actually know this author!! Sincere and hearfelt hugs from long ago! -Madame

    • Hannah says:

      Don’t you downplay that “blink”!!!! Loving French and pursuing it has been on of the most defining things in the course that my adult life has taken and it all started with one crazy French teacher! : )

What do you think?

