My best friend’s wedding.

Right after Christmas, James and I headed back down to Kentucky for the last wedding of 2013. One of my best friends from childhood got married! Here are a couple snapshots from her awesome wedding.collage collage3collage2collage4

I gave a speech at the reception and I will spare you the full thing, but I wanted to leave you with a poem that I read at the end of the toast. Yes, I am that cornball who has no shame reading a poem in wedding toasts. I mean, I did spend most of my own wedding trying to sneak some sort of poem in. The best days include poetry, and Matt and Megan’s wedding was definitely a best day.

No speed of wind or water rushing by

But you have speed far greater. You can climb

Back up a stream of radiance to the sky,

And back through history up the stream of time.

And you were given this swiftness, not for haste,

Nor chiefly that you may go where you will,

But in the rush of everything to waste,

That you may have the power of standing still —

Off any still or moving thing you say.

Two such as you with master speed

Cannot be parted nor be swept away

From one another once you are agreed

That life is only life forevermore

Together wing to wing and oar to oar.

-Robert Frost The Master Speed

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My best friend’s wedding.

  1. There should definitely be more poetry in our lives, and that ones a real beauty. How lovely to spend the end of the year celebrating friends!

  2. There should be more of this type of beauty in the world and shared on our internet communities. I think the author of our recent post on writing, (http://sophiaspockets.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/beginning-my-life-as-a-christian-writer/) would agree. Also, the photos are amazing!

  3. Pingback: When you come to DC | The Art in Life

What do you think?

