Today I am thankful for

picstitchToday I am thankful for snow days that come right when they are needed most, like miracles, or those rains that sweep across dry summer fields and leave the grass ready to lean towards the sun with renewed strength.  Everyone in my office is sick, the result of (in my non-scientific opinion) massive consumption of chocolate covered popcorn from a  communal tin. We sat around the seminar table last night, sneezing in rounds through a lecture on Sartre’s Huis Clos and existentialism. No Sartre, you’re wrong: Hell isn’t other people. It’s winter without snow days, it’s colds without tissues, it’s looking at the calendar and realizing that Spring Break is very, very far off. But then, a snow day comes like a gift. I am thankful for this chance to make tea and translate German in my jammies, to read literary theory from the comfort of my couch, and plan lessons in slippers.

Today I am thankful for that man I married. He indulged my snow day excitement last night and trudged through the snow with me for milkshakes at Ted’s. He’s the very best snow day buddy ever. Life has been a little hectic lately and this day is a unexpected break in the busy where I get to sit on the couch with him and eat breakfast sandwiches and pretend like we have nowhere else to go.

Today I am thankful for the snow, because it is beautiful. I know it will get ugly, messy, and gross, but isn’t that true of every beautiful thing? How can you look at a single snowflake and not get just a little weepy about this beautiful universe?

Today I am thankful for mugs of hot tea, chili on the stove for tonight, cozy slippers, flannel pants, and snug homes. We live amazing lives of luxury and I need to be reminded of that sometimes. Like when I come home to find that the plumber paid us a visit and cut two large holes in the kitchen wall and then left without fixing them. And that was two weeks ago. And the toilet still randomly stopes flushing. And I found my nice pots in the bathtub for some inexplicable reason. But still, these are first world problems that I should feel fortunate to have the privilege of having.

Today I am thankful that tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, because I like being reminded to love. Don’t give me any Valentine’s day hate — the day that we have reduced all love to romantic love is a sad day indeed. I am thankful for this yearly reminder to love just a little more, a little better, and a little broader.

Today I am also thankful that this snow isn’t so bad I can’t go out and run some errands. I am  thankful for generous return policies, because I ordered replacement boots last week that were supposed to be “wine leather” and they are straight up PURPLE. Unacceptable. I will be hitting up some stores while everyone else stays inside. Thank you, years at Hillsdale, for making me a stronger person when it comes to winter.

What are you thankful for today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Today I am thankful for

  1. Giles says:

    Today I’m thankful for sunshine. We’ve had a few too many snow days in Michigan this year.

  2. Kristina says:

    In your last sentence, you mention Hillsdale; do you mean Hillsdale, MI and you studied at Hillsdale College?? I’m a fairly new reader to your blog and enjoy your posts! My husband is a Hillsdale College grad and 2 years ago completed his Masters at the Dominican House of Studies in DC….. It’s fun to read your blog and remember similar outings when we were in DC! DC is suppose to have some weather today – stay warm and safe!

  3. Mackenzie says:

    I really appreciate your take on Valentine’s Day! It’s my favorite holiday for the same reason you love it, a yearly reminder to love broader. To reduce this beautiful day to merely a romantic love is a tragedy. I hope more people utilize this day to show love to people who need it, and people who we often forget to tell. Have a great Valentine’s Day!

  4. Neisha says:

    I just told my mom today that we may not have it all we are still so blessed!

  5. Ann says:

    Today I’m thankful for this flu. So I too have been able to stay home for 2 days (!) in pyjamas and had all these extra hours to study, bake cookies, read the newspaper, do crosswords… and think how blessed I am to have a few great friends and a one marvelous husband to share life with.

  6. Pingback: Day of Love | longlivebeauty

What do you think?

