From the weekend

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset//I always loved Valentine’s Day, even long before I had an “official” valentine. But I sure do love Valentine’s Day  even more with that cutie. We started dating right before Valentine’s day 6 years ago and every February I think back to those early days, days of Taco Bell picnics in freezing cars, pbj sandwiches made in the dining hall and eaten together in our noon class, all the shy firsts of love. This year, we had a nice dinner out at a new restaurant that just opened on the hill, but made sure to end our date with milkshakes at Good Stuff, because it’s tradition.// Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset//In between dinner and shakes, we hit the skating rink at the National Sculpture Garden. Whereas James is actually a great skater, I just skate with great enthusiasm. And in case you were considering skating in DC, I recommend the NSG over the one at Georgetown hands-down. Cheaper, they don’t allow cell phone photos while on the ice, and no kids with those penguin things to help them skate, so you can actually move continuously around the rink. I also felt sorry for the people there on those all important early dates, those poor girls skating and shivering in short dresses and tights. One poor girl spent the whole night skating trying to hang on to a giant bouquet. //Processed with VSCOcam with x1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset//Sunday morning pre-church pumpkin muffins… that I started making less than half an hour before we were supposed to leave. Why do I think time moves differently for baked goods?//Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset//That man. This weekend, made longer by our snow days, reminded me the many things I love about him. We spent all Saturday morning running errands — at the mall, James’ very least favorite place — and all afternoon babysitting. That combination reveals all you need to know about a husband’s character. Yesterday I put him on a flight for a week-long work trip and I miss him so much every time he’s gone. Obviously, Valentine’s Day dates and roses are fun. But I also miss him for babysitting and errands and running late for church and changing lightbulbs.//Alfred de Musset

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From the weekend

  1. giulia says:

    i just found your blog! i live in dc too and this post just makes me love it more:)

  2. Laura says:

    You guys are so cute! Love that photo of James in the metro station. That ceiling is my favorite. happy belated Valentine’s Day!

What do you think?

