November came in with a hurricane…

… which means that this and this,

… now look like this:

But given what could have been, I can’t complain. For me, Hurricane Sandy meant two days off of class, some wet shoes (must get rain boots), mornings/afternoons in a cozy pile of pillows, and lots of Star Wars and Avengers fruit snacks (James’ version of “nonperishable food”).

I found out today that I was on one of the last buses that left the New York Sunday night before they stopped transportation, so I am counting my blessings.  Watching the footage and seeing the photos, I can’t believe what the New York metro area looks like now.  I feel grateful that the storm spared our section of the coast, but every time that we joke here about the two “rain days” we got out of it, I am reminded to pray for those that have lost so much, and are facing the task of rebuilding their lives.  I can’t even begin to imagine how daunting it would be to be facing these weeks ahead.

New York friends — you all are in my thoughts so much!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to November came in with a hurricane…

  1. Leslie says:

    We still have a lot of Fall to go through! The leaves aren’t all changed. And I just began to use my fireplace. You’ll have to come over soon!

  2. Pingback: Ana-Joel and Joseph: Black and White New York Engagement Shoot | The Art in Life

What do you think?

