Five for fall.

tumblr_nccgtipgus1qhvtlqo1_500209b76c8a5e3cc23e6e5dae4c4a8e7b8I guess I should join the entire cyber world in welcoming October in as if it was truly THE greatest thing that ever happened.  Because come October first, we all start instantly expecting the world to look like that first picture, when really it  just looks like the last picture here in DC. Torrential rains, all weekend long.

But, those rains do bring cold air, dark skies, and branches that whip about, even if they are still almost entirely green, so I am officially getting on the fall train. I will continue to staunchly maintain that November is really where it’s at (take that, all ye over-zealous Anne Shirley quoters who live way south of Canada), but I’m not about to continue abstaining for some fall excitement and clothing.

It’s been a busy week with not much time for writing that wasn’t work related, but I wanted to drop in for a quick Friday five of fallness that I am embracing.

  1. Tonight I am doing my ceremonial watching of The Village. I’m not sure why, but that movie is fall to me, and the second those dark winds start blowing, I have to watch it. Go watch the trailer and get all fall-like and excited. And obviously it isn’t a real horror movie, as I am maybe the biggest weenie of all time about scary things.
  2. Whereas my summer motto is DO NOT ADD ANY HEAT to our apartment, I’ve been burning candles constantly to keep things cozy. This is my favorite, but James is not exactly a fan. I sniffed some great fall candles in the $1 section of Target the other day, so I think I might have to scatter those all around the house, as if it was a low budget college sorority initiation. Which I’m sure James will love.
  3. The definitive order of fall Starbucks beverages: Salted Caramel Mocha, Toasted Graham Latte, Cinnamon Chai, ice water, breathes of fresh air, Pumpkin Spice Latte. Move over, PSL, your reign is not universal.
  4. I will spend all month wanting to eat nothing but Reese’s pumpkins and (hopefully?) resisting. But on the subject of candy, this is pretty interesting. Something to keep in mind next time everyone gets upset about campaign spending. Good to know that our priorities are in line. Of course, this weekend I plan to indulge a bunch, candy or otherwise, because on Sunday morning I am going to a SoulCycle class for the first time and using that for a carte blanche all weekend. That works, right? (Have you been to one? Am I going to die/love it/hate it?)
  5. At the very end of last winter I invested in some great new boots on major sale, to finally replace my beloved vagabond boots. They have sat dormant all winter, but they are coming out, and bringing my army of obnoxiously colored tights with them. I’m trying to avoid buying many (any?) new clothes this fall, as my end-of-the-summer clothing purge showed me I lack nothing, but I am excited for the seasons to change and add some new life in my clothing rotations. But in interest of full disclosure, I did buy this dream of a tunic last month that is so silky and perfect that I think it fulfills all new clothing needs.

What are you looking forward to with fall?

Images via links from here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Five for fall.

  1. E.H says:

    Oh my goodness, too funny! I was just adding tracks to my spotify list and remembered how I used to have the Village Soundtrack, but it was all wiped out in an in-home virtual disaster shortly after college. As I was excitedly adding my favorite tracks, I thought about the memories of watching that at Hillsdale with Scott, Jenn, Carol… good times. Aaaand I was seriously contemplating that I need to watch it again. So there you have it. I agree with you about Fall — it doesn’t really happen south of Pennsylvania until November. And I’m good with that. 😉 I am looking forward to wearing scarves and boot socks and leggings with long sweaters and tunics. ❤

  2. Raewyn says:

    And we in New Zealand have just officially begun Spring 🙂
    Even though it felt like it began several weeks ago!
    I love the photo of the umbrellas, so mystical.
    Also love the new boots – very similar to the pair I bought myself at the beginning of our winter.
    So comfy and stylish 🙂

  3. Heidi says:

    I’m going to speak up for October here as the quiet time before the holidays hit, after the weather cools. While I love holidays, I love the in between times when we can just have our normal-wonderful every day life, and October does that for me. 😉 That said…this rain is nuts and needs to stop. My boys need to get outside.

    • Hannah says:

      Fair enough- I do love the holiday pause! For me though, it is always a SUPER intense school month, so it doesn’t feel terribly relaxing. Hope you all can get outside again sometime soon!

      • Heidi says:

        Me too! And having been out of school for several years now, I vaguely remember October being crazy. Alex is feeling it right now though. 🙂

  4. Katie says:

    I feel like bloggers are always like “this is the perfect top!” and then they link to some $300 Anthropologie shirt that I LOVE but could never afford.
    And then you go and link to TARGET and the top is LESS THAN $20 my day is thoroughly made.

    And there’s one that would look adorable with my Target-clearance-rack rainbows. WIN.

    • Hannah says:

      That is TOTALLY my number one pet peeve with bloggers. They are all about “investing” in “quality basics” and “wardrobe staples” which always translates to BUY ALL THE MOST EXPENSIVE THINGS. The best pair of jeans I have ever had — in terms of enduring quality and flattering fit — were a pair of $10 Walmart jeggings. I love quality too, but cost doesn’t always equal quality!

  5. Dawn says:

    1) That 2nd photo is fantastic! (Do you ever sell prints?)
    2) I AM glad I live in a world with Octobers, but where I live Autumn comes in glory in November.
    3) Salted caramel mocha all the way. I may not even get a psl this year.
    4) My Fall movie is Youve Got Mail. And for Pumpkin Carving night w my husband its Sean of the Dead or Zombieland. But The Village would be a good creepy addition!

    • Hannah says:

      I actually didn’t take this photo! I pulled it from a pinterest board, but I love it so much. And You’ve Got Mail is suchhhhhh a good one!

  6. Liz says:

    Guess who has fantastic candles? Aldi

What do you think?

