Full weekends.

Fall2015-100 Fall2015-101 Fall2015-102 Fall2015-103 Fall2015-104 donuts Fall2015-106 Fall2015-108 Fall2015-109Last weekend was full.

Ruth and I hit another SoulCycle class Saturday morning, and as it was to celebrate the opening of the new 14th St. studio, there were fresh Ted’s Bulletin poptarts and cupcakes awaiting us post workout. The only thing I love better than a good workout, is completely undoing it with tasty baked goods.ย  I would like to say that I was better at SoulCycle, this being my second time and all. But that would be a lie. It was a delightfully painful 45 minutes of me flopping around on my bike and struggling with my tiny weights while a the instructor yelled inspirational things like “lean into it with your courage” and kept writing “14TH STREET” in the steamed up windows behind him. A perfect Saturday morning.

A lot of the rest of Saturday was spent frantically working on my dissertation prospectus draft, but somewhere in there a nap was had and massive breakfast sandwiches were made. I was in my pajamas with wet hair until approximately 10 minutes before we threw open our doors for the 5th Annual Homemade Donut Making Extravaganza, and then there was a VERY INTENSE FLURRY OF ACTIVITY. If you are someone who manages to throw parties without said last minute dash, shoving piles of laundry into closets and stashing things wherever there is a place — please, don’t tell me. I like to think my weaknesses are universal.

The donut party was as it always is, which is to say that we had too many people, ate too many donuts, and made too big of a mess to clean up before bed. Basically a perfect party. We upped our class game with a great hand-lettered sign from Anna, I did the smart thing and bought caramel and chocolate sauces from Trader Joes, and I actually had the forethought to cover the topping table with paper. But not much else was different, which is how I like it.

There was a moment before the party started, as there always is, where I marched around grumbling Why do we bother throwing these things? Even something uniform like donut night involves planning, shopping, cooking, cleaning — a whole myriad of decision making and time. And then of course, in the last minute flurry to get ready I start thinking about all that we need to be doing instead, the laundry folding, paper grading, paper writing, relaxing, and I wonder if it’s worth it. Is it worth it to spend so much time doing this, when we have so many other things that need to get done?

But in the aftermath of the party, at the end of the weekend when we were munching on leftover donuts and looking back, I am reminded that it is worth it, it’s always worth it. All the other things that fill our time are good and necessary. I’m glad that I spent a big chunk of the weekend doing productive things or restful things. But I’m also glad that we enjoyed the enjoyable inconvenience of hosting people because those are the responsibilities that make life fun, that invest in the community that we love here in DC. In a world where young adults are apparently deciding that hospitality is more trouble than it’s worth

–Let’s bring out the donuts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Full weekends.

  1. Danae says:

    I seriously enjoy all of you posts Hannah! I also love this! I absolutely love the beauty and process that is pursuing community and daily life and I admire how you are transparent about your process! And c’mon who can resist donuts??!!! [I definitely can’t] Thanks for sharing!

  2. Liz says:

    donuts are always worth it!!!!

  3. Shannon says:

    Your doughnut parties always look and sound amazing. If we are ever magically in DC, I will probably crash one. Just so you are warned ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. 2presblogger says:

    That article–as with all pieces in NYT about trends–just proves that parties really and truly are coming back into vogue. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Jackie says:

    This looked like so much fun! I can relate to the pre-gathering freak out, but you’re right in saying it’s worth it!

  6. Pingback: Of Disaster and Donuts. | The Art in Life

What do you think?

