Some Daily Color

#somedailycolorI love color, which is totally obvious if you have read here for more than ten minutes. I know that an abundance of colors can be seen as gauche, childish, overdone and even garish, but I don’t care. 

Because for me, color is like visual poetry, ordering this world in rhymes that you can see. We move through life surrounded by a visual harmony that is just so beautiful. I love when I notice an especially daring note of color, but I am also not above creating them. Bright tights, brilliant skirts, shameless wearing of the primary colors, all of these are ways that I get to participate in this stunning, rhyming, rainbow of a world. 

It’s fall — the high note of the color year. If you follow me on Instagram, you probably have been noticing that I can’t stop sharing some of the great color I’ve been seeing.  I would love to encourage you all to join me with #somedailycolor. There are no rules, no catches. You don’t have to follow me, like my photos, or whatever. This is just because I love color, and I want this blog to encourage you to find the beauty, the color, the artistry in our ordinary lives in this extraordinary world. 

imageHappy color hunting. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Some Daily Color

  1. Lovely! I am always drawn to color myself.

  2. Jaimi says:

    Is it strange that I look at your orange carrots and think of the tertiary structure of a complex protein . . .? Sometimes I wonder if sub-microscopic particles have color (like authors take the liberty to designate when representing them in textbooks). I like to think that they do.

    And I love the line about colors working together like visual rhymes — Mmmm. 🙂

  3. It’s totally possible that I’m missing something really obvious, but…where can I find you on Instagram? The ubiquity of buttons everywhere might have made my sleuthing skills a little rusty…but I’d love to see your colorful pictures!

    • Hannah says:

      Actually, it’s not that obvious! You can click on one of my instagram pics on the right and it should take you to the original and then you can follow me… I think… or you can just search the user name hannahkatherinew.

      • Laura says:

        I’ve tried clicking on the instagram photos and it says “page not found.” I wonder if it is because your account is set to private? Thanks for sharing your username – I found you that way!

        Looking forward to using this hashtag! Love fall colors.

      • Hannah says:

        Good to know! I made it private this summer in a moment of being super overwhelmed about tons of people starting to read the blog. I allow pretty much anyone who tries to follow, but I just liked being able to keep track of how many people I was opening up our private life to. Glad you found me!

  4. Miles says:

    Brilliant!
    Fashion is a great quencher for fixing an Artistic thirst.

  5. Emily says:

    What a fun idea! Definitely going to use the hashtag…..once I import my massively unorganized stack of pictures from our trip. Oh, and after I do the laundry and find some food for our empty fridge.;-)

    ~Emily
    http://www.theorangeslate.com
    @emilyamccord

  6. E. Henry says:

    Sublime quote.

  7. kim says:

    What’s funny is that you usually are attracted to a color on daily basis depending on your mood. Pay attention, and you’ll see!

What do you think?